Reviews

An Imperfect Heart by Amie Knight

Published: May 6, 2018

I’ll get this out-of-the-way first. I received an ARC for an honest review.

Brand new from Amie Knight! This is a wonderful contemporary romance novel that takes the second chance in a different direction. So I discovered Amie Knight after I won a copy of her book A Steel Heart. I devoured that book in like a day and a half. So when I got the opportunity to get an ARC and review this one I jumped all over it! This book occurs 10 years after A Steel Heart. You hear mention of the one night stand between Kelly Potter and Dr. Anthony Jackson in that book but it’s brief and not part of the main story. Now, though, it all makes sense!

Kelly Potter is alone, broke, and pregnant. Not only is she pregnant, her child has a heart defect that without the proper series of surgeries she will not survive past infancy. Though Kelly never planned on being a mother she’ll be damned if she doesn’t do everything in her power to save this child. Which is why she finds herself in North Carolina outside of the Duke University Hospital for Children. She is there to beg for help from a man she slept with 10 years ago and who destroyed her in one swoop.

Dr. Anthony Jackson is one of the leading surgeons in his field so he is accustomed to people asking him to save their child’s life. What he isn’t accustomed to is being confronted by a tiny very pregnant woman in a cold parking lot. He remembers Kelly well and he is taking this as his sign for a second shot. That is if she doesn’t kill him first.

As Kelly and Anthony learn to get along as more than doctor/patient, things start to heat up and sparks are flying. Just because she is pregnant doesn’t mean Kelly isn’t the spit-fire she normally is. When Anthony just wants to take care of her Kelly isn’t having any of it because old fears surface and she’s been kicked out of his life once already. She doesn’t want to do it again.

This is a really sweet second chance romance novel. It isn’t an instant fall in love with each other situation. The book spans the last few months of Kelly’s pregnancy and with that come the close proximity with her Doctor. This book was well written and read quickly but I would have liked a bit more romancing, I guess. I liked that it had a lot of feelings in it (to a point where I needed a tissue or two) but in that aspect I felt kind of rushed. That may just be me though. Maybe I was anticipating a plot twist that wasn’t there and I had no reason to suspect would be there. I knew there was a HEA waiting for me at the end of this book and that did not disappoint. The epilogue was really cute too. It wraps up the whole thing really well. I would suggest this for anyone seeking a new contemporary second-chance story. It will definitely hold your interest and leave you content and happy with the ending.

—“The drums give life to music. And the heart, it’s the music of life.” – Kelly—

Leave a comment